Under Minnesota law…
YOU MAY TAKE PARENTAL LEAVE.
Minnesota Statute § 181.941 requires employers to grant an unpaid leave of absence to an employee who a biological or adoptive parent in conjunction with the birth or adoption of a child; or a female employee for prenatal care, or incapacity due to pregnancy, childbirth, or a related health condition. The length of the leave is a maximum of 12 weeks.
YOU MAY ATTEND SCHOOL CONFERENCES AND ACTIVITIES.
Minnesota Statute § 181.9412 requires certain employers to provide an employee with up to 16 hours unpaid leave during any 12-month period to attend school conferences and school-related activities.
YOU MAY ATTEND TO A SICK OR INJURED CHILD.
Minnesota Statute § 181.9413 states that you, as an employee, may use your personal sick leave time to care for a sick child on the same terms you use your benefits for your own sick leave.
YOU HAVE A RIGHT TO REINSTATEMENT AFTER A LEAVE.
Minnesota Statute § 181.942 states that employees returning from parental leave have a right to return to employment in the same or a comparable position.
*THIS MATERIAL IS EDUCATIONAL ONLY. IT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AND SHOULD NOT SUBSTITUTE FOR LEGAL ADVICE.
Bertelson Law Office – Union Plaza
333 Washington Ave. N. Suite 402 Minneapolis, MN 55401
Phone +1 (612) 278-9832